The Mum tum

Are you beach ready?

Oh…No, no I’m not. 

My Instagram is full of Slimming World/WW/Eat Clean photos of healthy looking fed and slim bodies. I’m okay with that. These guys and girls (some of whom I’m friends with) have worked extremely well to lose weight, tone up and genuinely have a much healthier lifestyle. Their before and after photos are an inspiration to all those who are trying to lose weight themselves. Of course though, it’s hard not feel a little jealous when you look at your own body and it’s not quite how it was before your child.

Now don’t get me wrong. I love my daughter more than life itself and my body, now marked and stretched, is a constant reminder of the beautiful thing I did bringing her in to the world. 

Before A-O, I did the shake diet. Lost a stone, looked great but felt like sh*t and had zero energy. I couldn’t do this with my baby, as all you mummies know having a baby is a full time job and I needed to be able to run around after my girl. This starvation “diet” wasn’t sensible at all. 

Breastfeeding helped at first and by four weeks post partum I had lost two of the 2 1/2 stone I put on during pregnancy. But by eight weeks old she was solely on formula and despite eating well, having smaller portions and taking A-O out in her pram I’ve hit a wall with my weight loss. I’ve realised this is okay. Skinny doesn’t necessarily equal healthy and I’ve felt more healthy then I did even before being pregnant. My mum tum is there as a gold medal of achievement for bringing a beautiful bundle of 9lbs4oz goodness. I never thought I’d be able to do find the confidence to this and I’m sure there will be a few negative comments behind my back but here it is my #mumtum


No filters, no edits, saggy pouch, stretch marks and all but here’s what it’s all worth for. Love your mum tum!!



Leave a Reply

