The extended maternity leave…

So now everyone knows and it’s official, I can now tell you I’m not going back to my job and I’m going to be a full time mummy to A-O.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted a family. I’ve seen the eye roll I’ve got when I’ve said to people I don’t have a dream job and I don’t care about being a big shot working professional.  I’ve always wanted to meet the one and I’ve always wanted to be a mum. Well check and check. ✅ I’m married to the love of my life and we had our beautiful daughter earlier this year. So what comes when you get everything you wished for? You hold on to it with every fibre of your being. I will spend the rest of my life protecting those I love. 

It’s going to be hard living on one wage. We’re not entitled to any help from the government (except child benefit who anyone under 60k can get – who even earns 60k 😳) but it will be worth it. My old job, as much as I enjoyed it,  meant going back five days a week and i just couldn’t commit to that…or afford childcare for it. The bond me and my own mum have, I believe, is down to her taking a number of years off work to look after me as a baby and child. We will take advantage of as many free classes we can do, we will have crafty days at home, feed the ducks, go to the park and just generally  spend as much time together building our relationship. I know I’m very lucky to do this. My lovely husband would love more time with our daughter and I do feel guilty when AO wants to sit with me when we’re both with her in the evenings because she’s so used to spending all day with me. The weekends will be about daddy time and spending time with our families to ensure the bond with AO is just as strong with other members of our family. If all goes well I’ll let you know in a few months how we are getting on and how we are  having mummy and daughter time on a budget 👶🏻💕

4 comments

Leave a Reply

